A new focus and more writing.

I’ve been spending a lot of time working on my book. It’s a fun, frustrating and slow process but it’s moving along. A lot of the book comes directly from the blog posts that I wrote a couple summers ago. Those posts were my springboard to being in trauma recovery as opposed to recovering from trauma.

Writing my truth and posting it on line for the world to see was humbling, freeing and empowering all at the same time. It was as if my pain slowly left me through my fingers onto the keyboard. This blog healed me.

The combination of writing my truth and the love and support I received lifted me up higher than I could have hoped for. While working on my book today I realized how much I missed writing those regular blog posts and decided I need to write regularly again.

A new focus for my blog

I thought about what I should focus my writing on now. Travel? I love travelling and I have learned some tricks along the way but I’m in no way an expert on any travel subject so I set that idea aside.

Sports? Meh, been there, done that. In all seriousness, if I had an opportunity to write about sports for pay it would be a dream job. Writing about it just because I’m a fan of certain teams or players doesn’t interest me. Who would want to read what I think about sports anyway?

As I said a little earlier, I cherish the feedback I received while telling my story. I thrive when I’m able to help even one person and that is really why my writing was so impactful for me, and others. It was the encouraging messages, the comments under my posts, the outpouring of empathy that wrapped me up and made me feel safe to tell it all that set me on my healing path.

I want to be able to impact people positively with my writing again so I decided that I should write about my continuing trauma recovery journey. I’m in no way cured of all the struggles I’ve written about. I am, however, empowered to take control of those struggles and of my emotions so I can transition into actively living after so many years of just surviving.

I have embraced the fact that I will be in recovery from my trauma for the rest of my life. I know that any of the challenges that held me back in the past can and will reappear. The difference is that I’m prepared now but I have to stay diligent.

The new life I have earned is a day to day work in progress. The road gets rocky at times still and I struggle to fight through it when it does. Over time, it becomes easier to navigate the rough times but only if I actively maintain strong boundaries which isn’t always easy to do.

I believe that writing about these ongoing struggles and successes as they come will be very beneficial to me and my continued trauma recovery. I hope that by being 100% real, others may benefit from my writing as well, again.

As always, thank you so much for reading. I’m looking forward to getting back into the flow of healing through writing because writing is healing. One Love.

One thought on “A new focus and more writing.”

  1. Thank you for the update Miguel. I’m glad to hear you are continuing to heal and find a positive path forward. I look forward to reading your future posts!

Leave a comment